Random Notes From What I’m Reading

The story of my life is the story of my faith…

Discard

leave a comment »

My grandmother understood the need to untie ropes also, but she called it ‘discarding’ – getting rid of the things that will hold you back. Monopoly was a game she played with her grandchildren, but her preference ran to card games. She loved a game called canasta that required to deck of cards, and she never forgot a single card that had been played. I had a pair of twin cousins named Larry and Gary who wanted to beat  my grandmother so badly they would secretly pass cards to each other using their toes. They would drop subtle hints about which suit they wanted their partner to bid in (“Boy, my heart
skipped a beat when I saw this hand.” Didn’t help. She always won. And she said the secret to the game was knowing what to discard.

In life, as in canasta, the secret lies in knowing what to discard. If I am not yet living according to what I believe matters most, it is no accident. There are forces or habits that have a deep hold on me that I will have to get rid of. The writer of Hebrews puts it like this: “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked for us. ”

We must discard whatever will hold us down. We must discard the wrong priorities that keep us from what matter most.

John Ortberg in “When the game is over, it all goes back in the box”

Written by Ryan

March 1, 2008 at 10:22 pm

Leave a Reply

