Random Notes From What I’m Reading

The story of my life is the story of my faith…

Grace City

leave a comment »

I used to cringe when I’d hear the cliche, “love the sinner, but hate the sin.” I thought it was impossible. I mean, come on, everybody who says that seems to bash both in short oder. This is particularly complicated for me because I live in Sin City – Las Vegas, a town built on its exhibitionism and excess.  Then I read a paragraph by CS Lewis that blew my mind. He notes that there is someone I love, even though I don’t approve of what he does. There is someone I accept, thought some of his thoughts and actions revolt me. There is someone I forgive, through he hurts the people I love most. That person is me. There are plenty of things I do that I don’t like, but I love myself without approving of all I do. I can also love others without approving of all they do. As that truth has been absorbed into my life, it has changed how I view others.

Jud White, pastor Central Community Church, Las Vegas

Written by Ryan

February 10, 2008 at 9:43 pm

Posted in Books, Christian

Leave a Reply

