Random Notes From What I’m Reading

The story of my life is the story of my faith…

The Most Profound Spiritual Truth

leave a comment »

“This is the most profound spiritual truth I know: that even when we’re most sure that love can’t conquer all, it seems to anyway. It goes down into the rat hole with us, in the guise of our friends, and there it swells and comforts. It gives us second winds, third winds, hundredth winds. It struck me that I have spent so much time trying to pump my way into feeling the solace I used to feel in my parents arms. But pumping always fails you in the end. The truth is that your spirits don’t rise until you way way down. Maybe it’s because this – the mud, the bottom – is where it all rises from. Maybe without it, whatever rises would fly off or evaporate before you could even be with it for a moment. But when someone enters that valley with you, that mud, it somehow saves you again. At the marsh, all that mud and one friend worked like a tenderizing mallet. Where before there had been tough fibers, hardness and held breath, now there were mud, dirt, water, airness – and I felt soft and clean.”

Anne Lamott in Traveling Mercies

Written by Ryan

January 4, 2008 at 10:35 am

Leave a Reply

