Random Notes From What I’m Reading

The story of my life is the story of my faith…

The Goofy Thing About Christian Faith…

with 2 comments

This month I’ve been struggling with some aspects of the bible like “the immaculate conception” and “Noah’s arc.” While I believe in God and I trust the Bible I’m finding myself struggling with just how these events could have been possible. Throw into the mix that the Bible was written during an era known for creative story tellers and I can’t help but question whether a lot of thoese stories are exagerations.

While re-reading Donald Miller’s “Blue Like Jazz” I had a huge “ah hah!” moment when I read:

“The goofy thing about the Christian faith is that you believe it and you don’t at the same time. It isn’t unlike having an imaginary friend. I believe in Jesus; I believe He is the Son of God, but every time I sit down to explain this to someone I feel like a palm reader, like somebody who works at the circus or a kid who is always making things up at a Star Trek convention who hasn’t figured out the show isn’t real.”

Written by Ryan

December 30, 2007 at 11:48 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I loved Blue Like Jazz because Miller said stuff I’d thought but hadn’t acknowledged. I kept laughing out loud and crying at the same time because he said my thoughts in the exact way I’d thought them. I wasn’t alone!

    Tracie

    December 30, 2007 at 8:18 pm

  2. Thanks for the comment Tracie! I first read his book last summer and this week with some time off work I dug into it and fell in love all over again. I find that often I’m in the “gray” and it was great to know other Christians feel similar ways on important topics.

    I just stopped by your blog and I’ve added it to my RSS Feeds, keep up the great work!

    Ryan

    December 30, 2007 at 10:22 pm


Leave a Reply

