Random Notes From What I’m Reading

The story of my life is the story of my faith…

Chocolate and the Bible

leave a comment »

With two weeks off of work and a couple of days before Christmas I decided to dig through some of my favourite books and I fell in love with Donald Miller’s “Blue Like Jazz” all over again. I’m going through a stretch where the church bubble is driving me nuts so I’m incredibly thankful that I picked up Donald’s book again and was reminded that other Christians go through similar struggles. Get ready for a lot of posts the next few days involving some of my favourite paragraphs and quotes from his book.

I couldn’t help but chuckle when I read the following anecdote:

“Don, the Bible is so good with chocolate. I always thought the Bible was more of a salad thing, you know, but it isn’t. It is a chocolate thing.”

While this section was meant to be humorous I couldn’t help but smile and think about how that quote is reflective of my life. I’ve grown up thinking the Bible is this stale, boring, judgmental thing telling me what I can’t do. In many ways it is like a salad in that I read the bible to stay healthy much like I eat salad to keep healthy despite the fact I dislike it and make excuses for having it part of my daily routine. I know that reading my bible and eating salad are good for me, it’s just that I dislike both so I tend to avoid both things.  I need to switch my mindset around so that reading my bible is something I compare to eating chocolate and not something that’s a bore or a chore.

Later in the book Donald talked about how much he loved reading through James and I’m going to attempt to dig in this week and read through that Chapter – perhaps while eating through some of the chocolates my students gave me last week.

Written by Ryan

December 27, 2007 at 3:48 pm

Leave a Reply

