Random Notes From What I’m Reading

The story of my life is the story of my faith…

Christian Music Superbowl

with 2 comments

I’ve never been a huge fan of Christian music because it’s a lot like Canadian television – both usually fail to catch my interest but I feel like I should support both despite the fact neither really interest me. In fact, if I’m going to be brutally honest, both Christian music and Canadian television bore me. Even though I dislike Christian music as a genre I’m constantly looking for artists I like so I was stoked to come across a blog called “The Blah Blah” which highlights some Christian artists I haven’t heard of before while being wrote by someone having a similar struggle in embracing Christian music.

Something else that snagged my attention with this blog is they have MP3’s for artists I wouldn’t have normally heard of and a lot of times these artists are Christians who may have a secular release. One of my favourite finds on the blog so far has been the group Blyss (now known as Lifehouse) and their song You Can Shake The Mountains.

Another reason to check out The Blah Blah is because they are running a great contest right now called Christian Music Superbowl.

According to the blog:

I got way too many recommendations of people and bands to include. Everybody had great nominations, and I wanted to include them all (plus about 50 of my own), but I had to limit the total lineup to 64 so I could pull off the Superbowl in time, so I had to make some cuts. I got hundreds of submissions, so chances are, not all the bands you asked to have included were included.

Here is the general theory behind the selections: I asked Drop7, Colossians Three Sixteen, The Bored-Again Christian, and Ears to Hear to give me around 10 “official” submissions which I planned to keep in the final lineup. I also allowed myself 10 submissions. Getting rid of some overlap and accounting for a few extra submissions, we came to 49 “official” submissions and room for 15 others from readers and friends of mine.

For those 15, I tried to add in a few bands which I felt have made important contributions to “Christian Music,” despite the fact that few people nominated them. This is why you’ll see bands like Newsboys, Audio Adrenaline, and Third Day in the lineup. Few of my readers consider themselves fans of the more “normal” CCM bands, but since I felt they’ve made a significant mark in the world of Christian Music, I included them. Besides, as much as I respect the major label bands, I thought it’d be fun to see Third Day get crushed by Agents of Future or Newsboys get stomped by Menomena. Sort of a Revenge of the Nerds moment in the making. All in good fun, though.

After adding in these “normal” bands, I tried to choose at least one submission from every person who contacted me, to spread the love a little. This was only possible because there were so many overlaps with the “official” submissions.

If your looking for some new tunes to add to your iPod make sure you take some time to check out this great blog and download some tunes from artists you may not have heard of before.

Written by Ryan

December 22, 2007 at 1:21 am

Posted in Christian, MP3, Music

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That blog looks awesome! Oh, yeah, it’s my blog. Thanks for the post! Glad you like the music.

    jakestimp

    December 22, 2007 at 5:02 am

  2. No need to thank me… thank YOU for keeping up a great blog! It’s really tough to find Christian artists I enjoy so I appreciate the MP3’s your posting. Plus, this Super Bowl idea is a brilliant one.

    Ryan

    December 22, 2007 at 2:59 pm


Leave a Reply

