Random Notes From What I’m Reading

The story of my life is the story of my faith…

Ambivalence is the Enemy of Love

leave a comment »

While reading Love In the Key of Longbreak today I read the following quote that I wanted to share:

“What if it ends? What if I enjoy you more than you enjoy me? What if your delight in me is bogus? Or worse, what if it is mere manipulation to get from me what you want? What if I love you and then you die, divorce me, or turn against me? The risk is more than I can bear, and so I refuse to open my heart to another person who will arouse my desire and then might use me or dash me to the ground. Such ambivalence is the enemy of love, [because love] is the capacity to offer ourselves to others.”

“The Healing Path” by Dan Allender

Written by Ryan

September 19, 2007 at 8:07 am

Posted in Books, Christian

Leave a Reply

