Random Notes From What I’m Reading

The story of my life is the story of my faith…

Faith Grows

with 2 comments

Have you had one of those moments where you break out  into a spontaneous grin while reading? When your trying to casually read something on the bus without drawing attention to yourself but something grabs your attention that you have to nudge the person next to you and share what you read. Or when something comical grabs your funny bone and you can’t help but laugh out loud. Those times are few and far between but I had one while reading this section of “God Is Here” by Steve Case:

One of the important parts to remember is that faith grows. You will not have some kind of super faith when you begin the presence. Children do not jump up from infancy and dance. Kids do not climb on a bike and ride the first time without skinning their knees.

Faith grows.

You failed tests and learned to study harder; you drank to excess and spent a day with your head in the toilet and didn’t drink that way anymore.

Faith grows.

We must learn to use our faith. Faith grows and becomes more alive when we learn to connect with God. When God is a part of our everyday lives, our faith becomes central to w ho we are. We no longer doubt. We no longer expect black and white. We learn that some questions have no answers and others may not be answered right away.

I’ve always been a Christian – I guess the buzzword for that is “inherited faith” – so there are times where I become incredibly frusterated with myself for not being as “mature” in my faith and relationship with God as I would. This exceprt was a great reminder that God doesn’t expect me to be perfect because my relationship with him and my faith is meant to always be growing.

Written by Ryan

August 31, 2007 at 11:35 pm

Posted in Books, Christian, Steve Case

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. powerful excerpt…. it gives hope when life seems dark and faith seems weak.
    great thoughts today. thanks!

    mandythompson

    September 1, 2007 at 11:47 pm

  2. Thanks for checking out my blog Mandy! I just went to yours and I really appreciated the MP3’s you posted 🙂

    Ryan

    September 3, 2007 at 4:34 pm


Leave a Reply

