Random Notes From What I’m Reading

The story of my life is the story of my faith…

Beauty In Brokeness

leave a comment »

“Once there was a beautiful Chinese vase. It had pictures of little children and dragon tails and little firework explosions. It was a very expensive vase, and one day it fell – shattered into a thousand pieces. I was very sad because it was very beautiful. But when everything broke, the inside was revealed: there was a candle, a burning candle. I wondered how the candle got inside and how it had survived the fall. I watched it, wondering if there anything I could do, when a pair of hands appeared from outside the picture. I didn’t see a body, just a pair of strong hands. One by one they put the pieces back together. The glass cut his fingers, but he kept working on the vase. I never saw his face, only his hands. And when the vase was complete, it was more beautiful than before because the light shone through the cracks. Oh, it was beautiful.”

Ned Erickson in Falling Into Love

Written by Ryan

August 21, 2007 at 12:02 pm

Leave a Reply

