Random Notes From What I’m Reading

The story of my life is the story of my faith…

Sniper

with 2 comments

Have you ever been reading through a book and had a “busted” moment? I had one this past week while reading through Ned Erickson’s book Falling Into Love and I feel like a huge schmuck.

Check out this excerpt and you’ll know what I mean:

I was a sniper.

The woman sitting next to a vacant seat on an airplane, the ringless lady testing apples in the produce department of the supermarket, the passion and purity girl praising the almighty and merciful Father on Sunday morning – they were all considered through my cross hairs.

This is embarrassing to admit, but I could be in a convenience store lifting a Yoo-hoo! from behind a fogging glass door down the row. In ten seconds I could (in my mind) pick her up, go on a series of dates, propose, get married, have 2.5 kids, become grandparents, join a retirement community and die.

Is this just something that guys do? Or, even worse, are Ned and I the only ones who do this?

Written by Ryan

August 17, 2007 at 11:31 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t know you, but this was a great post.

    Are you kidding? Girls are even worse about this than guys. Show a girl a cool guy, and she’ll be trying out her first name with his last name before you can count to ten. The things that attract us may be different, but we all do this.

    Amy

    Amy

    August 18, 2007 at 2:14 am

  2. Thanks Amy!I was feeling like a dolt as no one had responded yet – I’m happy to hear I’m in good company 🙂

    Why do we as humans place such a high importance on first impressions? Or, worse yet, physical attraction?

    Ryan

    August 18, 2007 at 10:46 am


Leave a Reply

