Random Notes From What I’m Reading

The story of my life is the story of my faith…

Typical Conversations

leave a comment »

I think every guy that’s been in a long term relationship will get a good laugh out of this excerpt from Falling Into Love:

“Hey Leela, where do you want to eat tonight?”

“I don’t care. You decide.”

“I don’t care, either.”

“Well then, just pick a place.”

“Okay. Let’s go to Brother’s Barbeque.”

“Naw,” says Lia.

“How about El Taco?” I propose.

“Naw. I’m not in the mood for Mexican.”

“We could go to Pasquini’s Pizzeria.”

“I don’t really want Italian tonight.”

“Leela, I though you didn’t care.”

“I don’t, but you haven’t said Swing Thai yet.”

“If you wanted to go to Swing Thai, why didn’t you say so?”

Lia says, “Because I want you to want the same thing I want.”

I huff. “So basically, you want a mind reader for a husband.”

“No, I just want a husband who knows me.”

“All right, next time you tell me to pick, I’ll choose Swing Thai.”

“But next time I might not want to go there.”

“So how am I supposed to know where you want to go?” I ask.

“You’re just supposed to know. If you take the time to make sure we are on the same page, you will just know.”

I almost quip, “So what you’re saying is, the same page really means your page.”

But I’m hungry.

So instead I say, “Well, I actually wanted to go to Swing Thai in the first place. I was simply testing to make sure that I was right. Turns out, I was. Isn’t that crazy? We both wanted to eat Taiwanese food.”

“Liar,” she says. “And by the way, Thai food is from Thailand.”

“Let’s just eat,” I say, fooled again.

She smiles.

Leela grabs her purse, I grab the keys, and we drive two miles north to good old Swing Thai. And it doesn’t bother me at all that we’re not going tot Brother’s Barbeque and El Taco or Pasquinin’s, because between Leela and me, I was the one who really didn’t care where we ate.

Written by Ryan

August 16, 2007 at 12:28 am

Leave a Reply

