Random Notes From What I’m Reading

The story of my life is the story of my faith…

Falling Into Love

with one comment

This week I picked up Ned Erickson’s book Falling Into Love and I have a confession to make – I’m really enjoying this book despite it’s brutal title. Usually I stay far away from books that have to deal with dating advice (I blame Josh Harris for this) or falling in love (do any guys enjoy these kinds of books?) but I’ve really enjoyed the stories Ned has used about dating Lia and as a writer he does a great job of painting visual images in my head.

One of my favourite parts from early in the book is when Ned wrote:

The only truth we have found is that we have tripped over and fallen into. And I guess that’s the point.

Love is what happens. It is not something you conjure or create. You cannot manufacture it. You cannot make it happen. It is like falling: it is out of control. You do not climb into love or fly into love or even walk into it. You fall into love: love bruises and bumps and breaks.

Falling is rather painful. You fall down stairs. You fall into the hands of robbers. You fall short. Acorns fall and hit your head. Vases fall and shatter on the floor. Hereos fall. Empires fall. Planes without motors fall. And even if the falling part doesn’t get you, the landing part will.

But love is different than stairs and empires and planes without motors. Love bruises and bumps, but it also holds. Love is like a pair of hands. They may break you into a thousand pieces, but they can also put your pieces back together.

What are some books that have pleasantly surprised you?

Written by Ryan

August 15, 2007 at 4:13 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Ryan,

    The excerpt that you posted is really good and very true! The relationship with my current girlfriend is very much like what Ned describes. I didn’t try to find love, in fact I tried not to find it. But it just happened. I’m so glad it did.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Michael

    Michael

    August 16, 2007 at 4:18 pm


Leave a Reply

