Random Notes From What I’m Reading

The story of my life is the story of my faith…

Vision

with 2 comments

A cool blog I came across yesterday is Elle Effect that features some great photography and some posts that have me thinking. One post that stuck out was called “Vision” where Lauren wrote:

I heard this story recently about a little boy who was asked once what his Mom’s favorite thing to do with him was. He replied, “Cleaning me up.” I found that to be surprising… until it was a bit clarified.

Later, they told his Mom was he had said was their favorite thing to do together was. She laughed – it really wasn’t her favorite thing at all. But she realized something. That was the time where she held her son the most – right after ‘cleaning him up.’

It really struck me. I ask God to hold me a lot, to be near to me a lot, to let me know His love a lot. Something clicked in my mind at that moment. When I ask God to hold me – which would be the nearest to Him – that I would have to be “clean” to be near to such a Holy God, right?  Wouldn’t He have to, in a sense, ‘clean me up’ beforehand? So in essence, when I’m asking God to be near to me/me near to Him/to hold me, I’m asking Him to ‘clean me up.’

One of my life verses has always been, “Blessed are the pure in heart for they will see God.”

Let me repeat that with emphasis, “Blessed are the pure in heart for they will see God.”

We see with our hearts (or we should). Maybe that’s why God put so much emphasis on guarding your heart for from it flow the springs of life. [or try the esv: “keep your heart with all vigilance, for from it flow the springs of life”]

I need vision. We all need vision. And I’m not talking about a natural kind of vision. I’m talking about the vision that comes from the heart… where all your passion is stored.

Make sure you take some time today to check out Elle Effect.

Written by Ryan

August 8, 2007 at 10:03 am

Posted in Christian

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m glad my thoughts spurred more thoughts for you. 🙂

    lauren

    August 8, 2007 at 4:46 pm

  2. Thanks for checking out my blog! Keep up the great work with your blog 🙂

    Ryan McNeill

    August 8, 2007 at 9:26 pm


Leave a Reply

