Random Notes From What I’m Reading

The story of my life is the story of my faith…

Random Quotes

leave a comment »

This weekend I had the chance to read through Brennan Manning’s book “Ragamuffin Gospel” and I wanted to share some quotes that I really enjoyed:

  • “The church is not a museum for saints but a hospital for sinners.” Morton Kelsey
  • “A poet has written: ‘the desire to feel loved is the last illusion: let it go and you will be free.’ Just as the sunrise of faith requires the sunset of our former unbelief so the dawn of trust requires letting go of our craving spiritual consolations and tangible reassurances. In trembling insecurity the disciple pleads for proofs from the Lord that her affection is returned. If she does not receieve them, she is frustrated and starts to suspect that her relationship with Jesus is over or that it never existed. If she does receive consolation, she is reassured but only for a time. She presses for further consolation and proofs – each one less convincing than the one that went before. In the end, the need to trust dies of pure frustration. What the disciple has not learned is that tangible reassurances, however valuable they may be, cannot create trust, sustain it or guarantee any certainty of it’s presence. Jesus calls us to hand over our autonomous self in unshaken confidence. When the craving for reassurances is stifled, trust happens.” Brennan Manning
  • “The sweet sound of amazing grace saves us from the necessity of self-deception. It keeps us from denying that though Christ was victorious, the battle with lust, greed and pride still rages within us, a sinner who has been redeemed. I can acknowledge that I am often unloving, irritable, angry and resentful with those closest to me. When I go to church I can leave my white hat at home and admit I have failed. Got not only loves me as I am but he also knows me as I am. Because of this I don’t need to apply spiritual cosmetics to make myself presentable to him. I can accept ownership of my poverty and powerlessness and neediness.” Brennan Manning
  • “Grace means that in in the middle of our struggle the referee blows the whistle and announces the end of the game. We are declared winners and sent to the showers. it is over for all huffing, puffing piety to earn God’s favor. It’s finished for all sweat soaked straining to secure self-worth, it’s the end of all competative scrambling in the game. Grace means that God is on our side and thus we are victors regardless of how well we played the game.” Donald McCullough

Has anyone else read through this book? If so, what were your thoughts on the book? Did you have any quotes you’d like to share?

    Written by Ryan

    August 7, 2007 at 1:57 pm

    Leave a comment