Random Notes From What I’m Reading

The story of my life is the story of my faith…

Patience

leave a comment »

I’d add my own thoughts but Mathew Rauch summed them up best when he wrote:

There’s just something in our flesh, in our human nature, that wants to earn what we get. We want to fix our own problems, and many of us have a lot of trouble with this verse: “For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God” (Ephesians 2:8, TNIV). We want to be self-made men and women. But the scripture goes on “ … not by works, so that no one can boast” (Ephesians 2:9,TNIV).

The problem is that many of us are constantly trying to work. We are constantly trying to do, but God is waiting for us to cease to do. Here’s the point; in the words of Watchman Nee, “The Christian experience does not begin with a big do; it begins with a big done.

There’s profound truth in that simple statement. How many times can I look back at my life and see a continuous history of me being so caught up in “ministry” that I’m not really ministering? We busy ourselves in an effort to accomplish God’s will for ourselves, but it’s time to stop and let God’s will be accomplished in us.

Written by Ryan

July 27, 2007 at 11:02 pm

Leave a Reply

